Service Header

 词汇

注意

本词汇释义包括一些在本网站所指及采用的词语。本词汇释义是根据中国人寿保险(海外)股份有限公司(“国寿海外”)认为可靠的资料来源而编写及只供参考。虽然中国人寿海外公司已合理审慎地编写词汇释义,但切勿误把词汇释义替代阅读《保险公司条例》或其他相关成文法例或普通法规则。成员须就词汇释义的词语自行寻求法律意见。

意外保险
「意外保险」是指受保人在保险期内,因遭受外来突发的意外事故,以致身体受伤害而造成死亡丶伤残或暂时无法工作的收入损失时,由保险公司按保险合约约定的保险金给付。
保险代理
代表保险公司与第三者洽谈合约的中介人。
年金寿险
「年金寿险」是一种向保险公司领取现金的保险计划,用途多以作为养老金。在受保人生存期间或一特定期间内,每届满一固定期间,由保险公司依约定给付保险金。年金保险的特点是确保退休后仍可有一定额度的经济保障。
受益人
是由保单持有人指定可获得赔偿的个人或团体。指定受益人并无人数的限制,保单持有人可以指定一人或同时指定数人为受益人。
现金价值
可作为保单持有人向保险公司申请保单贷款的金额或于退保时可获取的金额。
冷静期
保单持有人可享有冷静期权益,以审阅保单内的条款及承保条件。保单持有人如在冷静期内改变主意,可以以书面通知取消投保,并退回保单给保险公司,即可获退回所有已缴保费。(注:有关投资相连保单的退款须扣除市值调整,退回的保费可能会跟已缴付保费有所差异。) 冷静期的计算方法是交付新保单或「领取保单通知书」〔说明已经可以领取保单和「冷静期」的届满日〕予保单持有人或其代表后起计21天内(以较先者为准)。
危疾保险
「危疾保险」是指受保人在保险有效期内罹患保单条款定义的重大疾病,保险公司按合约所订的保险金额的赔付。
红利
周年红利是保险公司决定派发之可分配盈馀,在保单周年日派发,红利分配之多寡,需视乎保险公司当年的整体业务表现和投资回报率厘定,金额不获保证。红利领取方法包括有积存生息丶领取现金丶抵付保费或购买缴清保险。
批单
也称为批注条款,是指在原本合约以外的附加文件,合并加入原本合约内而构成合法之合约条款。其主要目的大致上是用来增加或删减原契约中某些条款的规定,加以特别注明,使契约双方的权益更加明确。
储蓄寿险
「储蓄寿险」订有固定有效期,以储蓄为主要目的,这种计划的保费相对地最高。受保人于保障期届满时仍然健在,保单持有人可向保险公司领取期满金额;若受保人不幸身故,保险公司则按投保金额及积存红利〔如有〕赔偿给予受益人。
健康保险 (医疗保险)
「健康保险」是指受保人在保险有效期内因遭受意外伤害或过了等候期后因罹患疾病,所造成的医疗费用损失,由保险公司依保险合约约定的保险金额赔付。「健康保险」基本包括以实报实销作赔偿的医疗保险及按每日固定金额赔偿的住院入息保险两项。
可保权益
保单持有人在以下情况与保单受保人存在「可保利益」:(1) 保单持有人在受保人生存期间能够获益;及 (2) 保单持有人在受保人身故后将会导致财务损失。
要保书
要保书是指保单持有人向保险公司申请投保时所填写的书面文件,主要内容包括:保单持有人丶受保人及受益人的各项个人资料丶要保事项丶告知事项丶声明事项及签署等。
保单持有人
是向保险公司申请订立保险合约的人或公司。负有告知义务及缴交保费的义务,具有指定或更改受益人丶变更保险合约丶解除契约等的权利。
人寿保险
「人寿保险」是指以受保人的生存或身故作为保险金给付条件的保险,大致可分为终身寿险丶储蓄寿险丶定期寿险及年金保险四大类。
保单
保单是保单持有人与保险公司双方订立保险合约的文件,记载合约条款丶批注或特约条款等各种事项,属双方订立合约的凭证。
受保人
在保险条款下其生命或健康受到保障的人。
定期寿险
「定期寿险」设有特定有效期,主要为受保人提供纯人寿保障,计划内并没有任何储蓄丶红利丶投资成分。若受保人在保单有效期内身故,保险公司会按投保金额作出赔偿。由于这种计划内没有任何现金价值及不含储蓄成份,故为三类寿险计划中保费最低的,其保费通常会随受保人的年龄增加而提高,当保单于限期届满时就会失效,保单持有人不会获得期满金额。
豁免保费利益保障
「豁免保费」是指保单持有人或受保人于契约缴费期间内,若因意外受伤或罹患疾病而失去工作能力,可获保险公司豁免缴交保费。
终身寿险
「终身寿险」是一种永久性人寿保险,保障年期至受保人100岁,附有储蓄成份,是一份人寿及储蓄两者兼备的寿险保障计划。在保障期内,保费维持不变;保单内除有现金价值外,如属分红保单,更可获保险公司每年派发红利,保单持有人可随时提取已积存的红利。若受保人不幸身故,保险公司将会按计划内之投保金额加上积存红利〔如有〕赔付受益人。

Service Header

 Glossary

Notes

The glossary contained certain terms referred to or used throughout this website. The glossary is compiled by China Life Insurance (Overseas) Company Limited from sources which are believed to be reliable and for easy reference only. Whilst reasonable care has been taken in the preparation of this glossary, it must not be regarded as a substitute for a review of the Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes Ordinance and/or other relevant legislation. Members should take their own legal advice in relation to the statutory meanings.

Accident Insurance
Accident insurance covers for death, injuries, permanent/temporary disability and loss of income arise due to unexpected accidents during the benefit period. Specified benefits will be paid according to the policy coverage.
Agent
Agent is a person who arranges an agreement on behalf of his insurer with the third party.
Annuity
Annuity is an insurance plan that offers payouts to the insured, mainly used as retirement fund. The insured receives regular payments as he/she lives or during a specific period from the insurance company. The main characteristic of annuity is the provision of certain financial protection after retirement.
Beneficiary
Beneficiary is the person or party to receive the policy benefit if the event insured against occurs. If no beneficiary is specified in the policy, the proceeds payable on the death of the insured will be treated as the estate of the insured.
Cash value
The amount payable to the policyholder should he decide to surrender the policy.
Cooling-off period
Policyholders are given a cooling-off period to review the terms and conditions of their long term insurance policies. The policyholder has the right to cancel the policy and obtain a full refund of the insurance premium (less a market value adjustment where applicable in the case of investment-linked policies) if he changes his mind within that period and apply in writing for the cancellation of the policy. The cooling-off period is 21 days from the date of the delivery of the policy or issue of a Notice (informing the policyholder of the availability of the policy and the expiry date of the cooling-off period) to the policyholder or his representative whichever is the earlier.
Critical Illness Insurance
Critical illness insurance provide a lump sum when the insured is diagnosed of any of the critical illnesses listed in the benefit provision while it is still in effective.
Dividend
Dividend comes from the share of divisible surplus (if any) and is determined by the insurance company every year and is declared on each policy anniversary. The amount of each dividend depends on the overall performance of the company such as investment performance, and the dividend is not guaranteed. Policyholders may choose to leave the dividend on deposit with the company for interest, withdraw the dividend, use the dividend to offset future premiums or purchase a paid-up insurance.
Endorsement
An addition to an original insurance policy that becomes a part of the insurance contract. Its main purpose is to expand or limit the benefits payable.
Endowment insurance
Endowment life insurance bears a fixed period during which death cover is in effect. In the event of death, the beneficiary will receive the insured sum plus accumulated dividends (if any) from the insurance company. If the insured is alive when the policy matures, the policyholder will receive maturity benefits from the insurance company.
Health Insurance (Medical Insurance)
Health insurance indemnifies the insured for medical expenses incurred in the event of accident, or sickness after the waiting period while the policy is in force. Expenses are reimbursed for actual expenses incurred, and/or daily cash is paid to the insured while he/she is hospitalized, depending on the protection selected.
Insurable interest
The interest an insurance policyholder has in the risk that is insured. The owner of a life insurance policy has an insurable interest in the insured when (1) the policyholder is likely to benefit if the insured continues to live and; (2) is likely to suffer some loss or detriment if the insured dies.
Insurance Provision
Insurance provision is the part of the policy defining the rights and obligations of each party of the policy contract. It comprises of the basic plan provision and rider benefit provision.
Policyholder
Policyholder is a company or organization carrying on insurance business. It has the right to receive premium once an insurance contract is established and the obligation to assume any liabilities in accordance to the risks it has underwritten.
Life insurance
With life insurance, benefits are payable when prescribed living or death event occurs. In general, life insurance can be divided into 4 categories: whole life insurance, endowment life insurance, term life insurance and annuity insurance.
Policy
A written document that contains the terms of the contractual agreement between an insurance company and the owner of the policy. A complete policy usually comprises of insurance provisions, application form, health declarations, medical reports, any endorsements or related documents.
Insured
The person or business that owns an insurance policy.
Term Life Insurance
Term life insurance provides pure life coverage during a fixed period without savings, dividends or investment elements. In the event of death while the policy is in effect, the beneficiary will receive the insured sum from the insurance company. Since term life insurance does not have any cash value, it has the lowest premium among three types of life insurances. When the policy expires, there is no mature benefit payable as the plan has no savings element. Mortgage insurance is a kind of term life insurance whereby the insured sum decreases as the amount of outstanding mortgage decreases.
Waiver of Premium Benefit
Waiver of Premium Benefit is a supplementary benefit to an insurance policy, waiving premiums otherwise payable while the insured is totally disabled, keeping the insurance in force.
Whole life insurance
Whole life insurance covers the insured till the age of 100. It provides a life-long protection with savings element. Throughout the covered period, premium payable remains unchanged. Apart from cash value, participating policy also provides dividends distributed annually by the insurance company. Accumulated dividends can be withdrawn any time. In the event of an unfortunate death of the insured, the insurance company will pay to the Beneficiary the sum assured and accumulated dividends (if any).